Friday, May 7, 2010

Atal Bihari Vajpayee

Birth name: Atal Bihari Vajpayee
He was born on 25th December 1924 in Gwalior State, British India. The daughter whom he has adopted from Mrs. & Mr. B. N. Kaul are Nandita and Namita. Nandita is a doctor in the U.S. and she is married to Ashok Nanda a software engineer and Namita is married to Ranjan Bhattacharya and lives in Delhi.

Biography and Career:

Atal Bihari Vajpayee was born on December 25, 1924 in Gwalior State, British India. He is an Indian Statesman.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee has done his masters degree in political science from the Victoria College which is now known as Laxmibai College and DAV College, Kanpur. He is a bachelor and has adopted daughters from Mrs. & Mr. B.N. Kaul.

He first joined politics in 1942 when he was arrested during the Quit India mov

ement. He then became close to Syama Prasad Mookerjee, the leader of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh (BJS). He was the side of Syama when he went on fast till his death in Kashmir in 1953.

The Janata government did not last too long. After Moraji Desai resigned as the Prime Minister the Janata party was dissolved. He along with his BJS and RSS colleagues close friends Lal Krishna Advani and Bhairon Singh Shekhawat started the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1980.

In 1996 the BJP was the single largest party that was elected in the Lok Sabha and A.B. Vajpayee was sworn in as the Prime Minister. But because of insufficient votes from other parties he resigned from his post after 13 days.

Between 1996 and 1998 after the Parliament was dissolved fresh election were conducted and the BJP once again won the elections. This time many parties joined hands to form the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), and A.B. Vajpayee was sworn in as the Prime Minister. Five underground nuclear tests were conducted in Pokhran, Rajasthan in May 1998. For the third time he was sworn in as the Prime Minister on 13th October 1999. he won the Padma Vibhushan award in 1992, D.Lit from Kanpur University in 1993, Lokmanya Tilak Award in 1994 and the Best Parliamentarian Award: Bharat Ratna Pandit Govinda Vallabh Panth Award in 1994.

Post a Comment

Whatsapp Button works on Mobile Device only

Start typing and press Enter to search